Main Image

Recent TAASA Events

Exhibition Viewing of Indonesia Calling 2020  & a Thai Banquet

Thu, Nov 26, 2020
16albermarle Project Space (Newtown, NSW)

The exhibition Indonesia Calling 2020 paints a picture of life in Indonesia during the COVID-19 pandemic through over 100 artworks. Hear a talk about the exhibition, followed by dinner.

Islamic Art: Beyond Perception and Perspective

Mon, Nov 9, 2020
Online

This talk will show how human agency and authoritative point of view is absent in the traditional Islamic understanding of art making, which tends to take into account the dialectic relationship between the seen, the unseen, and the unseeable.

Koo BohnchangThe light of the moon

Wed, Oct 28, 2020
Korean Cultural Centre (Sydney, NSW)

Korea’s leading photographic artist Koo Bohnchang is famous for his series of photographs of the evocatively named ‘moon jars’.

Ceramic Artists to the Imperial Household of Japan

Tue, Oct 27, 2020
Online

This Zoom lecture focuses on the little known Meiji and later ceramicists who were made Artists to the Imperial Household

India: Artist Responses to the Pandemic

Sun, Oct 18, 2020
Online

Hear two lectures about "Why Photography as Art in India Matters More than Ever" and "Portraying the Pandemic for Posperity"

A Taste for the Exotic: The Samurai and a World of Commodities

Mon, Oct 5, 2020
Online

Drawing on the AGSA exhibition Samurai, this lecture will present the continuing interest in foreign commodities during a period when Japan is often described as ‘closed’.

Conversations 3: Transnationalism in Porcelain Ceramics

Sun, Sep 20, 2020
Online

Two Zoom talks will take us on a pilgrimage of sorts with Edmund de Waal and examine how Korean porcelains inspired Yanagi Soetsu's formulation of mingei theory.

The New Chau Chak Wing Museum at the University of Sydney and its Asian Collections

Mon, Sep 14, 2020
Online

David Ellis will provide an overview of the University of Sydney’s cultural collections with a focus on its Asian holdings

Japanese Modernism: Between Earthquake and War

Mon, Aug 31, 2020
Online

This Zoom lecture for TAASA members presents the current NGV exhibition Japanese Modernism and discusses some of the fascinating lives of the artists exhibited 

More past events

Sacred Love: The Gitagovinda of Jayadeva

Mon, Aug 3, 2020 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Everything old is new again: The presentation of Asian art at the National Gallery of Australia 2019 - 2022

Mon, Aug 3, 2020 - Online (, )

CONVERSATIONS 2: Japan: Art & Life

Sun, Jul 19, 2020 - Online (, )

Into the LIght: Asian Textiles in the Powerhouse Museum Collection

Mon, Jul 6, 2020 - Online (, )

Panji Stories in Southeast Asia

Mon, Jun 1, 2020 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

The Shahnama (Book of Kings)

Mon, May 4, 2020 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Japan's "Tale of the Heike"

Mon, Apr 6, 2020 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

The Trade in the Arts in Asia, from the Days of the Silk Road to Now

Thu, Mar 19, 2020 - Silk Road Asian Art (South Yarra, Victoria)

Rosanjin - Epicure and Potter

Tue, Mar 17, 2020 - Member's home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Creation with a Purpose

Tue, Mar 10, 2020 - National Trust Centre (Millers Point, NSW)

The Ramayana in Art: Princely Adventures and Other Stories

Mon, Mar 2, 2020 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Jumaadi: House of Shadow

Sat, Feb 8, 2020 - Artisan Gallery (Bowen Hills, Queensland)

CELEBRATE LUNAR NEW YEAR WITH TAASA

Thu, Jan 30, 2020 - Palace Restaurant (Sydney, NSW)

Japan Supernatural - Guided TAASA Tour

Tue, Nov 26, 2019 - Art Gallery of NSW (Sydney, NSW)

Bonhams Sydney Auction Preview and Talk

Thu, Nov 14, 2019 - Bonhams Sydney (Woollahra, NSW)

Silk Embroidery in Sumatra with Hwei- Fe’n Cheah

Tue, Nov 12, 2019 - National Trust Centre (Millers Point, NSW)

Bonhams Melbourne Grand Opening

Thu, Nov 7, 2019 - Bonhams Melbourne (Armadale, VIC)

AGSA Asian Arts Program

Fri, Nov 1, 2019 - Art Gallery of South Australia (Adelaide, SA)

Celebrate Diwali the Indian 'Festival of Lights'

Wed, Oct 23, 2019 - planet (Surry Hills, NSW)

Shades of Blue: the enduring appeal of blue and white ceramics

Tue, Oct 22, 2019 - Elwyn Lynn Conference Centre, COFA (Paddington, NSW)

WEFT: Textiles and Travels in Central Asia

Sun, Sep 22, 2019 - Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, VIC)

"Viewing the New": A Curator-led Viewing of Recent Acquisitions by the Asian Art Department at the National Gallery of Victoria

Thu, Sep 19, 2019 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)

Big Day Out in Canberra: Contemporary Worlds: Indonesia and Savanhdary Vongpoothorn: All That Arises

Sat, Sep 14, 2019 - National Gallery of Australia (Parkes, ACT)

Textile Conservation

Tue, Sep 10, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Artworks from Nature

Sat, Aug 24, 2019 - UNSW ART + DESIGN (Paddington, NSW)

Batik Workshop with Heda Warisan

Sat, Aug 10, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Guided Visit to Manly Art Gallery and Museum

Mon, Aug 5, 2019 - Manly Art Gallery & Museum (Manly, NSW)

Show-and-Tell-Textiles

Sat, Aug 3, 2019 - Member's home (Melbourne, VIC)

Shared Passions: Ikats

Tue, Jul 9, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Along the Mystical Path: Sufis in Persia

Mon, Jul 1, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Indigo Dye Bath with Dana McCown

Sat, Jun 29, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, QLD)

A Friday night, curator-led viewing of the NGV’s Exhibition: Terracotta Warriors & Cai Guo-Qiang

Fri, Jun 28, 2019 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Vic)

The Pagoda in Chinese Art and Architecture

Tue, Jun 4, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Japanese Mountain Asceticism

Mon, Jun 3, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Asian Art Viewing at Bonhams

Thu, May 16, 2019 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

VIP Event for "Asian Works of Art" Auction

Thu, May 16, 2019 - Leonard Joel Auctioneers (South Yarra, Victoria)

Batik Peranakan or Batik Nonya?

Tue, May 14, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Illuminating Islamic Ceramics

Tue, May 7, 2019 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Jin and Local Lords of the Earth

Mon, May 6, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

A Private Collection of Japanese Ceramics

Sun, May 5, 2019 - Member’s home (Melbourne, VIC)