Main Image

Recent TAASA Events

Sacred Love: The Gitagovinda of Jayadeva

Mon, Aug 3, 2020
Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

This event has been postponed due to the COVID-19 situation

Everything old is new again: The presentation of Asian art at the National Gallery of Australia 2019 - 2022

Mon, Aug 3, 2020
Online

This lecture online looks at how the Asian collection was re-configured in the new galleries in 2019, and the curatorial opportunities that arose from working with different spaces and new ideas.

CONVERSATIONS 2: Japan: Art & Life

Sun, Jul 19, 2020
Online

TAASA Queensland is delighted to invite you to an informal Sunday afternoon conversation online focusing on Japan.

Into the LIght: Asian Textiles in the Powerhouse Museum Collection

Mon, Jul 6, 2020
Online

Immerse yourself in a virtual inspection of some of the Powerhouse Museum's collection of Asian textiles. This is a free Zoom lecture only for TAASA members.

Panji Stories in Southeast Asia

Mon, Jun 1, 2020
Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

This event has been postponed due to the COVID-19 situation

The Shahnama (Book of Kings)

Mon, May 4, 2020
Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

This event has been postponed due to the COVID-19 situation

Japan's "Tale of the Heike"

Mon, Apr 6, 2020
Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

This event has been postponed due to the COVID-19 situation

The Trade in the Arts in Asia, from the Days of the Silk Road to Now

Thu, Mar 19, 2020
Silk Road Asian Art (South Yarra, Victoria)

TAASA members and friends are invited to a talk by Ray Tregaskis and a private viewing of the upcoming exhibition at Silk Road Asian Art, Melbourne

Rosanjin - Epicure and Potter

Tue, Mar 17, 2020
Member's home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Explore the extraordinary life of Showa era restauranteur and ceramicist Kitaoji Rosanjin

More past events

Creation with a Purpose

Tue, Mar 10, 2020 - National Trust Centre (Millers Point, NSW)

Asian Classics Through Art

Mon, Mar 2, 2020 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

The Ramayana in Art: Princely Adventures and Other Stories

Mon, Mar 2, 2020 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Jumaadi: House of Shadow

Sat, Feb 8, 2020 - Artisan Gallery (Bowen Hills, Queensland)

CELEBRATE LUNAR NEW YEAR WITH TAASA

Thu, Jan 30, 2020 - Palace Restaurant (Sydney, NSW)

Japan Supernatural - Guided TAASA Tour

Tue, Nov 26, 2019 - Art Gallery of NSW (Sydney, NSW)

Bonhams Sydney Auction Preview and Talk

Thu, Nov 14, 2019 - Bonhams Sydney (Woollahra, NSW)

Silk Embroidery in Sumatra with Hwei- Fe’n Cheah

Tue, Nov 12, 2019 - National Trust Centre (Millers Point, NSW)

Bonhams Melbourne Grand Opening

Thu, Nov 7, 2019 - Bonhams Melbourne (Armadale, VIC)

AGSA Asian Arts Program

Fri, Nov 1, 2019 - Art Gallery of South Australia (Adelaide, SA)

Celebrate Diwali the Indian 'Festival of Lights'

Wed, Oct 23, 2019 - planet (Surry Hills, NSW)

Shades of Blue: the enduring appeal of blue and white ceramics

Tue, Oct 22, 2019 - Elwyn Lynn Conference Centre, COFA (Paddington, NSW)

WEFT: Textiles and Travels in Central Asia

Sun, Sep 22, 2019 - Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, VIC)

"Viewing the New": A Curator-led Viewing of Recent Acquisitions by the Asian Art Department at the National Gallery of Victoria

Thu, Sep 19, 2019 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)

Big Day Out in Canberra: Contemporary Worlds: Indonesia and Savanhdary Vongpoothorn: All That Arises

Sat, Sep 14, 2019 - National Gallery of Australia (Parkes, ACT)

Textile Conservation

Tue, Sep 10, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Artworks from Nature

Sat, Aug 24, 2019 - UNSW ART + DESIGN (Paddington, NSW)

Batik Workshop with Heda Warisan

Sat, Aug 10, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Guided Visit to Manly Art Gallery and Museum

Mon, Aug 5, 2019 - Manly Art Gallery & Museum (Manly, NSW)

Show-and-Tell-Textiles

Sat, Aug 3, 2019 - Member's home (Melbourne, VIC)

Shared Passions: Ikats

Tue, Jul 9, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Along the Mystical Path: Sufis in Persia

Mon, Jul 1, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Indigo Dye Bath with Dana McCown

Sat, Jun 29, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, QLD)

A Friday night, curator-led viewing of the NGV’s Exhibition: Terracotta Warriors & Cai Guo-Qiang

Fri, Jun 28, 2019 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Vic)

The Pagoda in Chinese Art and Architecture

Tue, Jun 4, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Japanese Mountain Asceticism

Mon, Jun 3, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Asian Art Viewing at Bonhams

Thu, May 16, 2019 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

VIP Event for "Asian Works of Art" Auction

Thu, May 16, 2019 - Leonard Joel Auctioneers (South Yarra, Victoria)

Batik Peranakan or Batik Nonya?

Tue, May 14, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Illuminating Islamic Ceramics

Tue, May 7, 2019 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Jin and Local Lords of the Earth

Mon, May 6, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

A Private Collection of Japanese Ceramics

Sun, May 5, 2019 - Member’s home (Melbourne, VIC)

Last Days of APT9 Tour & Afternoon Tea

Thu, Apr 25, 2019 - Gallery of Modern Art (Brisbane, Queensland)

Lao New Year

Sat, Apr 13, 2019 - National Gallery of Australia (Canberra, ACT)

Spirits and Djinn from the Islamic Worlds

Mon, Apr 1, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Textile Connections between Indonesia and Japan

Sat, Mar 30, 2019 - Brisbane Square Library (Brisbane, Queensland)

Five Centuries of Tapis

Tue, Mar 12, 2019 - S H Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

TAASA Victoria Imari Exhibition Tour

Wed, Mar 6, 2019 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, VIC)

Love the Buddha, Fear the Nat

Mon, Mar 4, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

TAASA Queensland Indian Decorative Arts Seminar

Sun, Feb 24, 2019 - QAGOMA seminar room (South Brisbane, QLD)