Main Image

Recent TAASA Events

Lao New Year

Sat, Apr 13, 2019
National Gallery of Australia (Canberra, ACT)

Celebrate Lao New Year by learning about Lao textiles

Spirits and Djinn from the Islamic Worlds

Mon, Apr 1, 2019
Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Arabia and its deserts are said to be the home of the Djinn, spirits of ‘smokeless fire’ created by Allah as intermediaries between realms of the human and angelic.

Textile Connections between Indonesia and Japan

Sat, Mar 30, 2019
Brisbane Square Library (Brisbane, Queensland)

An illustrated talk by Maria Friend about her research at the archives of the Dutch trading houses in De Haag.

Five Centuries of Tapis

Tue, Mar 12, 2019
S H Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

This illustrated talk will focus on Lampungese textiles which provide evidence of early close interchange within Asia dating from the second half of the last millennium.

TAASA Victoria Imari Exhibition Tour

Wed, Mar 6, 2019
National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, VIC)

A curator-led viewing of the National Gallery of Victoria's Exhibition "Imari Porcelain: Brocades of Translucent Colour".

Love the Buddha, Fear the Nat

Mon, Mar 4, 2019
Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Art historian Sally Bamford will introduce Myanmar's spirits, known as nats, in the second lecture of our Monday night series for 2019.

TAASA Queensland Indian Decorative Arts Seminar

Sun, Feb 24, 2019
QAGOMA seminar room (South Brisbane, QLD)

A seminar showcasing the decorative arts of India, including textiles, ivories, bronzes and paintings.

TAASA Visit to APT9

Sat, Feb 23, 2019
QAGOMA (South Brisbane, QLD)

TAASA is again offering our popular trip to Brisbane for the Asia-Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art at QAGOMA.

TAASA Queensland Dinner and Lecture

Sat, Feb 23, 2019
Members Home (Brisbane, QLD)

Dinner at a TAASA member's home, with musical entertainment and a talk about contemporary Tibetan painting.

More past events

Animal Magic

Tue, Feb 12, 2019 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA), Block F, Room 202 (Paddington, New South Wales)

Imagined Worlds and Supernatural Beings in Contemporary Chinese Art, followed by Lunar New Year Supper

Mon, Feb 4, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Film Screening - 1000 Hands of the Guru: Saving Bhutan’s Sacred Arts

Thu, Nov 29, 2018 - State Library of Queensland (South Bank, Queensland)

TAASA NSW End of Year Party

Tue, Nov 27, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)

TAASA QLD End of Year Party - International Pot Luck Meal and World Tea Gathering Event.

Sat, Nov 17, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Austronesian Migrations and the Textiles and Sculpture of Southeast Asia

Tue, Nov 13, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)

Asian Art Viewing at Bonhams

Thu, Nov 8, 2018 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

OZASIA Festival in Adelaide

Thu, Nov 8, 2018 to Mon, Nov 12, 2018 - Adelaide (Adelaide, South Australia)

TAASA QLD Ceramic interest Group Show and Tell

Tue, Oct 16, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

TAASA QLD Visit to Mt Mee Farm

Sun, Oct 14, 2018 - Member's Home (Mt Mee, Queensland)

An Exclusive Preview of Leonard Joel's Melbourne Auction: 'Asian Art'

Thu, Oct 4, 2018 - Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, Victoria)

A Private Viewing in Sydney of Leonard Joel's Upcoming Auction: 'Asian Art'

Thu, Sep 27, 2018 - Leonard Joel Auctions (Woollahra, NSW)

A Day at the NGA - A Full Days Program at the National Gallery of Australia

Fri, Sep 21, 2018 - National Gallery of Australia (Canberra, ACT)

Creating and Living in a Vedic Home

Mon, Sep 17, 2018 - Member's Home (Willow Vale, Queensland)

Sharing your Passion: Pattern and Ornamentation in Indian Textiles

Tue, Sep 11, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)

TAASA at MAAS (Powerhouse Museum)

Thu, Sep 6, 2018 - Power House Museum (Ultimo, NSW)

Colours Symposium

Sat, Aug 25, 2018 - UNSW Art & Design (Paddington, NSW)

Melbourne Art Fair Lunch

Fri, Aug 3, 2018 - TBA (Melbourne, Victoria)

Korean Ceramics

Tue, Jul 31, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Indian Magic

Mon, Jul 30, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Qld Textile Interest Group Show and Tell

Mon, Jul 23, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Discovering the Batik in the Collection of the National Gallery of Australia

Tue, Jul 10, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Leonard Joel's Auction of 'The Bolster Collection of Asian and Ethnographic Artefacts'

Thu, Jul 5, 2018 - Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, Victoria)

Japanese Gardens as Art

Mon, Jul 2, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

The Burrangong Affray - an artist led Gallery Tour

Fri, Jun 29, 2018 - 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art (Haymarket, NSW)

Japonisme: a Revolution in Arts and Design

Wed, Jun 20, 2018 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)

Jakuchū’s Pleasure Garden and Beyond

Mon, Jun 4, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Travelling Edmund de Waal's White Road: The Development of Porcelain in China and Europe

Sat, May 19, 2018 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Tales From the East - An Illustrated Talk by Lindie Ward

Tue, May 8, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Boardroom (Millers Point, NSW)

Utamaro's Picture Books

Mon, May 7, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

TAASA Auction Preview at Bonhams

Thu, May 3, 2018 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

Decorating Japanese Matcha Cookies

Sat, Apr 28, 2018 - Member's Home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Private Viewing of the Capon Collection

Sat, Apr 14, 2018 - The Capon Home (Sydney, NSW)

Elaborate Excess: Garments by Guo Pei at NGV Triennial

Tue, Apr 10, 2018 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)

The Rising Clouds of Spring and the Whitened Mountains of Winter: Sesson, Zen and Painting the Natural World

Mon, Apr 9, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Shipwrecks - An Illustrated Talk with James MacKean

Tue, Mar 20, 2018 - Member's Home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Early Embroidered and Woven Textiles of West Aceh: An Illustrated Talk by Barbara Leigh

Tue, Mar 13, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

QAGOMA Exhibitions Tour

Sat, Mar 10, 2018 - QAGOMA (South Brisbane, Queensland)

JAPAN 3/11: Imaging destruction

Mon, Mar 5, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Trade Winds to Palembang

Tue, Feb 20, 2018 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Sacred and Secular: A Private Collection of Japanese and Chinese Garments

Thu, Feb 15, 2018 - Member's Home (South Yarra, Victoria)