Main Image

Recent TAASA Events

Silk Embroidery in Sumatra with Hwei- Fe’n Cheah

Tue, Nov 12, 2019
National Trust Centre (Millers Point, NSW)

A look at popular taste, cottage industries and creative responses at the turn of the twentieth century.

Bonhams Melbourne Grand Opening

Thu, Nov 7, 2019
Bonhams Melbourne (Armadale, VIC)

A private event to celebrate the grand opening of Bonhams Melbourne and to preview upcoming auctions

AGSA Asian Arts Program

Fri, Nov 1, 2019
Art Gallery of South Australia (Adelaide, SA)

Join in an Asian arts symposium at the Art Gallery of South Australia, held during the Adelaide Festival

Celebrate Diwali the Indian 'Festival of Lights'

Wed, Oct 23, 2019
planet (Surry Hills, NSW)

A fascinating fun-filled evening at planet with tales of discoveries and musical performances

Shades of Blue: the enduring appeal of blue and white ceramics

Tue, Oct 22, 2019
Elwyn Lynn Conference Centre, COFA (Paddington, NSW)

Learn more about the origins and the enduring popularity of blue and white ceramics

WEFT: Textiles and Travels in Central Asia

Sun, Sep 22, 2019
Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, VIC)

A slideshow event co-hosted by TAASA and Leonard Joel's Asian Art Department

"Viewing the New": A Curator-led Viewing of Recent Acquisitions by the Asian Art Department at the National Gallery of Victoria

Thu, Sep 19, 2019
National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)

Join Wayne Crothers, Senior Curator of Asian Art, and Annika Aitken, Curatorial Project Officer at the NGV, for a private viewing of recent acquisitions currently on display at NGV International.

Big Day Out in Canberra: Contemporary Worlds: Indonesia and Savanhdary Vongpoothorn: All That Arises

Sat, Sep 14, 2019
National Gallery of Australia (Parkes, ACT)

Join us in Canberra for a curator and artist led day of Indonesian performance and art at the National Gallery and ANU.

Textile Conservation

Tue, Sep 10, 2019
SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Join us for an exciting opportunity to meet and listen to Kate Chidlow, conservator at the Museum of Arts and Applied Sciences (MAAS) who will discuss textile conservation.

More past events

Artworks from Nature

Sat, Aug 24, 2019 - UNSW ART + DESIGN (Paddington, NSW)

Batik Workshop with Heda Warisan

Sat, Aug 10, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Guided Visit to Manly Art Gallery and Museum

Mon, Aug 5, 2019 - Manly Art Gallery & Museum (Manly, NSW)

Show-and-Tell-Textiles

Sat, Aug 3, 2019 - Member's home (Melbourne, VIC)

Shared Passions: Ikats

Tue, Jul 9, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Along the Mystical Path: Sufis in Persia

Mon, Jul 1, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Indigo Dye Bath with Dana McCown

Sat, Jun 29, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, QLD)

A Friday night, curator-led viewing of the NGV’s Exhibition: Terracotta Warriors & Cai Guo-Qiang

Fri, Jun 28, 2019 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Vic)

The Pagoda in Chinese Art and Architecture

Tue, Jun 4, 2019 - Member's home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Japanese Mountain Asceticism

Mon, Jun 3, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

VIP Event for "Asian Works of Art" Auction

Thu, May 16, 2019 - Leonard Joel Auctioneers (South Yarra, Victoria)

Asian Art Viewing at Bonhams

Thu, May 16, 2019 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

Batik Peranakan or Batik Nonya?

Tue, May 14, 2019 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Illuminating Islamic Ceramics

Tue, May 7, 2019 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Jin and Local Lords of the Earth

Mon, May 6, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

A Private Collection of Japanese Ceramics

Sun, May 5, 2019 - Member’s home (Melbourne, VIC)

Last Days of APT9 Tour & Afternoon Tea

Thu, Apr 25, 2019 - Gallery of Modern Art (Brisbane, Queensland)

Lao New Year

Sat, Apr 13, 2019 - National Gallery of Australia (Canberra, ACT)

Spirits and Djinn from the Islamic Worlds

Mon, Apr 1, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Textile Connections between Indonesia and Japan

Sat, Mar 30, 2019 - Brisbane Square Library (Brisbane, Queensland)

Five Centuries of Tapis

Tue, Mar 12, 2019 - S H Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

TAASA Victoria Imari Exhibition Tour

Wed, Mar 6, 2019 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, VIC)

Love the Buddha, Fear the Nat

Mon, Mar 4, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

TAASA Queensland Indian Decorative Arts Seminar

Sun, Feb 24, 2019 - QAGOMA seminar room (South Brisbane, QLD)

TAASA Queensland Dinner and Lecture

Sat, Feb 23, 2019 - Members Home (Brisbane, QLD)

TAASA Visit to APT9

Sat, Feb 23, 2019 - QAGOMA (South Brisbane, QLD)

Animal Magic

Tue, Feb 12, 2019 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA), Block F, Room 202 (Paddington, New South Wales)

Imagined Worlds and Supernatural Beings in Contemporary Chinese Art, followed by Lunar New Year Supper

Mon, Feb 4, 2019 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Film Screening - 1000 Hands of the Guru: Saving Bhutan’s Sacred Arts

Thu, Nov 29, 2018 - State Library of Queensland (South Bank, Queensland)

TAASA NSW End of Year Party

Tue, Nov 27, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)

TAASA QLD End of Year Party - International Pot Luck Meal and World Tea Gathering Event.

Sat, Nov 17, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Austronesian Migrations and the Textiles and Sculpture of Southeast Asia

Tue, Nov 13, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)

OZASIA Festival in Adelaide

Thu, Nov 8, 2018 to Mon, Nov 12, 2018 - Adelaide (Adelaide, South Australia)

Asian Art Viewing at Bonhams

Thu, Nov 8, 2018 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

TAASA QLD Ceramic interest Group Show and Tell

Tue, Oct 16, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

TAASA QLD Visit to Mt Mee Farm

Sun, Oct 14, 2018 - Member's Home (Mt Mee, Queensland)

An Exclusive Preview of Leonard Joel's Melbourne Auction: 'Asian Art'

Thu, Oct 4, 2018 - Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, Victoria)

A Private Viewing in Sydney of Leonard Joel's Upcoming Auction: 'Asian Art'

Thu, Sep 27, 2018 - Leonard Joel Auctions (Woollahra, NSW)

A Day at the NGA - A Full Days Program at the National Gallery of Australia

Fri, Sep 21, 2018 - National Gallery of Australia (Canberra, ACT)

Creating and Living in a Vedic Home

Mon, Sep 17, 2018 - Member's Home (Willow Vale, Queensland)

Sharing your Passion: Pattern and Ornamentation in Indian Textiles

Tue, Sep 11, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)