Main Image

Recent TAASA Events

Austronesian Migrations and the Textiles and Sculpture of Southeast Asia

Tue, Nov 13, 2018
S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)

In our final meeting of the year, this illustrated talk will focus on examples of the similarities of artistic expression embodied in Southeast Asian cultural artefacts.

Asian Art Viewing at Bonhams

Thu, Nov 8, 2018
Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

Join us for a private viewing of Bonhams' upcoming Asian art sale guided by Larry Lucas and Yvett Klein. The auction comprises exquisite works from 5 private collections.

OZASIA Festival in Adelaide

Thu, Nov 8, 2018 to Mon, Nov 12, 2018
Adelaide (Adelaide, South Australia)

TAASA is running a special 4 day tour to the OZASIA festival in Adelaide this coming November. Join us for an exciting program, including a special viewing of ‘Edo Style: Japanese Art from the AGSA Collection’ at the David Roche Foundation.

TAASA QLD Ceramic interest Group Show and Tell

Tue, Oct 16, 2018
Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Bring along your ceramic pieces for a showing and discussion.

TAASA QLD Visit to Mt Mee Farm

Sun, Oct 14, 2018
Member's Home (Mt Mee, Queensland)

This event promises to be a highlight of our calendar as we explore the golden threads of Tapis weavings from the Lampung region of Sumatra.

An Exclusive Preview of Leonard Joel's Melbourne Auction: 'Asian Art'

Thu, Oct 4, 2018
Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, Victoria)

Join us for an exclusive preview of Leonard Joel's upcoming Asian Art auction.

A Private Viewing in Sydney of Leonard Joel's Upcoming Auction: 'Asian Art'

Thu, Sep 27, 2018
Leonard Joel Auctions (Woollahra, NSW)

An opportunity for Sydney members to join us for a private viewing of Leonard Joel's upcoming Asian Art auction.

A Day at the NGA - A Full Days Program at the National Gallery of Australia

Fri, Sep 21, 2018
National Gallery of Australia (Canberra, ACT)

Join us for this exciting day in Canberra - from curator led tours of the Asian Galleries to special viewings of other artworks, followed by a Persian banquet dinner at Ottoman.

Creating and Living in a Vedic Home

Mon, Sep 17, 2018
Member's Home (Willow Vale, Queensland)

Led by Anna Bonshek, we will learn about designing and building according to Vedic Architectural principles.

More past events

Sharing your Passion: Pattern and Ornamentation in Indian Textiles

Tue, Sep 11, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Observatory Hill, NSW)

TAASA at MAAS (Powerhouse Museum)

Thu, Sep 6, 2018 - Power House Museum (Ultimo, NSW)

Colours Symposium

Sat, Aug 25, 2018 - UNSW Art & Design (Paddington, NSW)

Melbourne Art Fair Lunch

Fri, Aug 3, 2018 - TBA (Melbourne, Victoria)

Korean Ceramics

Tue, Jul 31, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Indian Magic

Mon, Jul 30, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Qld Textile Interest Group Show and Tell

Mon, Jul 23, 2018 - Member's Home (St Lucia, Queensland)

Discovering the Batik in the Collection of the National Gallery of Australia

Tue, Jul 10, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Leonard Joel's Auction of 'The Bolster Collection of Asian and Ethnographic Artefacts'

Thu, Jul 5, 2018 - Leonard Joel Auctions (South Yarra, Victoria)

Japanese Gardens as Art

Mon, Jul 2, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

The Burrangong Affray - an artist led Gallery Tour

Fri, Jun 29, 2018 - 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art (Haymarket, NSW)

Japonisme: a Revolution in Arts and Design

Wed, Jun 20, 2018 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)

Jakuchū’s Pleasure Garden and Beyond

Mon, Jun 4, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Travelling Edmund de Waal's White Road: The Development of Porcelain in China and Europe

Sat, May 19, 2018 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Tales From the East - An Illustrated Talk by Lindie Ward

Tue, May 8, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Boardroom (Millers Point, NSW)

Utamaro's Picture Books

Mon, May 7, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

TAASA Auction Preview at Bonhams

Thu, May 3, 2018 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

Decorating Japanese Matcha Cookies

Sat, Apr 28, 2018 - Member's Home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Private Viewing of the Capon Collection

Sat, Apr 14, 2018 - The Capon Home (Sydney, NSW)

Elaborate Excess: Garments by Guo Pei at NGV Triennial

Tue, Apr 10, 2018 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)

The Rising Clouds of Spring and the Whitened Mountains of Winter: Sesson, Zen and Painting the Natural World

Mon, Apr 9, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Shipwrecks - An Illustrated Talk with James MacKean

Tue, Mar 20, 2018 - Member's Home (Brisbane, Queensland)

Early Embroidered and Woven Textiles of West Aceh: An Illustrated Talk by Barbara Leigh

Tue, Mar 13, 2018 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

QAGOMA Exhibitions Tour

Sat, Mar 10, 2018 - QAGOMA (South Brisbane, Queensland)

JAPAN 3/11: Imaging destruction

Mon, Mar 5, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Trade Winds to Palembang

Tue, Feb 20, 2018 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Sacred and Secular: A Private Collection of Japanese and Chinese Garments

Thu, Feb 15, 2018 - Member's Home (South Yarra, Victoria)

The Dutch East India Company (VOC) and the Dutch Golden Age

Mon, Feb 12, 2018 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

A Christmas Treat - Tour of the Reconfigured Asian Galleries at the NGV

Wed, Dec 6, 2017 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, VIC)

NSW End of Year Party

Tue, Nov 28, 2017 - S.H. Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Yayoi Kusama - Life is the Heart of a Rainbow

Mon, Nov 20, 2017 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Silks and Horses

Sat, Nov 18, 2017 - Satou House (St Lucia, QLD)

Field of Flowers - Islamic Textiles from Safavid to Sumatra

Tue, Nov 14, 2017 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Old St Luke’s Studio and Gallery, Gundaroo

Sun, Oct 29, 2017 - Old St Luke's Studio and Gallery (Gundaroo, NSW)

Diwali - Festival of Lights

Sat, Oct 21, 2017 - Member's Home (Brisbane, QLD)

Bonhams’ Chinese Paintings

Thu, Oct 19, 2017 - Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

Reversed Applique - A Hands-on Textile Workshop with Marianne Hulsbosch

Tue, Oct 10, 2017 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Treasures of Buddhist Art

Fri, Sep 15, 2017 to Fri, Sep 15, 2017 - AGNSW Storage (Lilyfield, NSW)

Textiles of the Nusa Tenggara

Tue, Sep 12, 2017 - S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Hokusai

Thu, Sep 7, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

East-West Chic - A TAASA Symposium

Sat, Aug 19, 2017 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)