Main Image

Recent TAASA Events

Yayoi Kusama - Life is the Heart of a Rainbow

Mon, Nov 20, 2017
S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Reuben Keehan, Curator of the QAGOMA exhibition on Yayoi Kusama, will speak on this extraordinary artist whose career extends over more than 60 years.

Silks and Horses

Sat, Nov 18, 2017
Satou House (St Lucia, QLD)

Wear your best silk shirt and learn about the importance of the horse in Chinese literature and ceramics.

Field of Flowers - Islamic Textiles from Safavid to Sumatra

Tue, Nov 14, 2017
S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Join us for the last meeting of the year as Stephen Menzies gives an illustrated talk on Islamic textiles.

Old St Luke’s Studio and Gallery, Gundaroo

Sun, Oct 29, 2017
Old St Luke's Studio and Gallery (Gundaroo, NSW)

See the wood-fired ceramics of Ian Jones and Moraig McKenna at Old St Luke's Studio and Gallery, and hear them talk about their practice.

Diwali - Festival of Lights

Sat, Oct 21, 2017
Member's Home (Brisbane, QLD)

Qld members and supporters are invited to gather for a home cooked vegetarian meal at a member's home in Brisbane.

Bonhams’ Chinese Paintings

Thu, Oct 19, 2017
Bonhams (Woollahra, NSW)

Join Bonhams' Asian Art Specialist Yvett Klein for a private viewing and talk as a preview to the Bonhams Chinese Painting auction.

Reversed Applique - A Hands-on Textile Workshop with Marianne Hulsbosch

Tue, Oct 10, 2017
S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

In this workshop you will be introduced to a simple and effective reversed applique technique using some easy artistic layering. No previous experience needed.

Treasures of Buddhist Art

Fri, Sep 15, 2017 to Fri, Sep 15, 2017
AGNSW Storage (Lilyfield, NSW)

Join Jackie Menzies on a special tour of Buddhist art located in the AGNSW's Lilyfield storage facility.

Textiles of the Nusa Tenggara

Tue, Sep 12, 2017
S.H. Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Join Dr Marianne Hulsbosch as she explores the textiles of the Nusa Tenggara islands, and bring your own pieces to share with the group.

More past events

Hokusai

Thu, Sep 7, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

East-West Chic - A TAASA Symposium

Sat, Aug 19, 2017 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Lost in Translation

Tue, Aug 15, 2017 - Members Home (St Lucia, QLD)

Pakistani, Indian and Japanese Treasures in Canberra

Sat, Aug 5, 2017 - National Gallery of Australia (Parkes, ACT)

Hokusai

Fri, Jul 28, 2017 - NGV (Melbourne, VIC)

Artwork by Arin Dwihartanto Sunaryo

Wed, Jul 19, 2017 - Sullivan+Strumpf (Zetland, NSW)

South Indian Kalamkari Textile Decoration Technique

Sat, Jul 15, 2017 - Members House (Brisbane, QLD)

Textile Use in Ritual Amongst the Tai of the Border Areas of Northeast Laos and Vietnam

Mon, Jul 3, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydnay, NSW)

A Curator-Led Viewing of the NGV’s Exhibition Buddha’s Smile

Fri, Jun 16, 2017 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, VIC)

Rituals of Southeast Asia - The Diamond Vajra

Mon, Jun 5, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Tibet - The Roof of the World

Tue, May 30, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Breathing Universe - Happy Together

Sat, May 27, 2017 - Impress Printmakers Studio, followed by Edwina Corlette Gallery (Wooloowin, QLD)

Indian Textiles at the National Gallery of Victoria

Fri, May 19, 2017 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, VIC)

Art From The Heart

Thu, May 18, 2017 - M16 Artspace (Griffith, ACT)

For Gods, Kings and Ancestors: Ritual Ceramics in Asia

Sat, May 13, 2017 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA) (Paddington, NSW)

Out of the Black Lacquer Box: Ikats from Indonesia and the Philippines

Tue, May 9, 2017 - S.H.Ervin Gallery, Annie Wyatt Room (Millers Point, NSW)

Special Lecture on Ritual with Four Post-Graduate Students

Mon, May 1, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

Contemporary Indian Textiles

Mon, May 1, 2017 - Members House (Brisbane, QLD)

Bird and Flower Painting on Asian Ceramics

Tue, Apr 25, 2017 - Members House (Brisbane, QLD)

The Depiction of Ritual in Balinese Painting of the Nineteenth and early Twentieth Centuries

Mon, Apr 3, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

World Tea Gathering Event

Sat, Apr 1, 2017 - Members House (Brisbane, QLD)

A Viewing of Textiles from Private Collections

Sat, Mar 18, 2017 - Members House (Malvern, Victoria)

Keeping Up with the Jeros: Made Wijaya and Balinese Ritual

Mon, Mar 6, 2017 - Sydney Mechanics School of Arts (Sydney, NSW)

TAASA Singapore Fling

Sun, Feb 12, 2017 - Singapore (, )

Shades of Iron: A Study of the Blackware Ceramic Tradition across Asia

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 - COFA (Paddington, NSW)

NSW End of Year Party and Bazaar

Tue, Nov 29, 2016 - SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

In praise of the Buddha

Thu, Nov 17, 2016 - UNSW Art & Design (COFA Paddington), Room F202. (Paddington, NSW)

Japanese Arts and Delicious Indian Food

Sat, Nov 12, 2016 - Edo Arts (Terrey Hills, NSW)

NSW TSG 8th November Meeting Cancelled

Tue, Nov 8, 2016 - SH Ervin Gallery (The Rocks, NSW) (Millers Point, NSW)

In the Footsteps of Buddha - A Special Event in Melbourne

Sat, Oct 22, 2016 - Mossgreen (Armadale, Victoria)

Wunderkammer - An Asian Cabinet of Curiosities

Wed, Oct 19, 2016 - Weft Gallery (Malvern East, Victoria)

Malaysian Mosques - A Starting Point to Understanding the Adoption of Islam in Southeast Asia

Mon, Oct 10, 2016 - Sydney Mechanics' School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

China in the Word Centre Tour

Sat, Oct 8, 2016 - Australia Centre on China in the World (ANU, Canberra)

Textile Holdings of the Chinese Museum and Han Dynasty Exhibition

Fri, Sep 30, 2016 - Chinese Museum (Melbourne, Victoria)

Black Ships and White Cats: Historical Influence on Japanese Kimono Design from the Edo Period Onwards

Tue, Sep 13, 2016 - Annie Wyatt Room at the SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

An Archaeologist in Shangri-La: Exploring the Early History of Kashmir

Mon, Sep 5, 2016 - Sydney Mechanics' School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Made for the Local Market: A Study of Khmer, Burmese & Lao Ceramics

Tue, Aug 2, 2016 - AGNSW Storage Facility (Lilyfield, NSW)

Palmyra

Mon, Aug 1, 2016 - Sydney Mechanics' School of Art (Sydney, NSW)

Preview of Mossgreen's Decorative Arts Auction, including Fine Asian Art

Thu, Jul 28, 2016 - Mossgreen (Armadale, Victoria)

In Pursuit of Indian Ikats - Gujarat, Orissa & Andhra Pradesh

Tue, Jul 12, 2016 - Annie Wyatt Room at the SH Ervin Gallery (Millers Point, NSW)

Bamboo - Tradition in Contemporary Form

Mon, Jul 11, 2016 - National Gallery of Victoria (Melbourne, Victoria)